Chapter Awards 2011

Each year, MAFCA awards chapters and members for longevity and service. This year's awards were announced at the National Awards Banquet in Colorado Springs, CO. Congratulations to all the chapters and people involved!


Chapter Longevity Awards

Many of our chapters celebrated their 50th Anniversaries this year. Congratulations to all chapters who have reached the 25 year or more mark.

50 Years: • Beaver Chapter, Oregon • Central Wisconsin, Wisconsin • Las Vegas Valley, Nevada • Mohican Model A Ford Club, New York • Orange County Chapter, California • Sagebrush Chapter, Nevada • Twin Cities Model A Ford Club, Minnesota

45 Years: • Alabama Chapter, Texas • Auburn A’s, California • Greater Houston, Texas • Red stick Chapter, Louisiana

40 Years: • Acorn A’s, California • Conejo Valley, California • El Camino A’s, California • Moon On A’s, Washington • Rio Grande Valley A’s, Texas • Salt Creek A’s, Illinois

35 Years: • Henry Leavenworth A’s, Kansas • Nickle A Region, Wisconsin • Redding Rambling A’s, California • North Penn A’s, Pennsylvania

30 Years: • Mother Lode A’s, California

25 Years: • Cowlitz Valley A’s, Washington • Ohio Valley Region, Ohio • Palm Beach A’s, Florida • Southwest Missouri Model A Club, Missouri • Sycamore A’s, Indiana


Chapter Service Awards

This award is given to Chapter members nominated by their chapters for service above and beyond. These special people have worked hard and long to make their chapters successful.
View the list of this year's winners here.


Newsletter Awards

Most MAFCA chapters submit copies of their newsletters to the Chapter Coordinator each month. From those newsletters, MAFCA presents awards based on criteria in the Newsletter Award Policy.

MAFCA Chapter Newsletter Awards for 2009, designed to recognize the Editors of Chapter Newsletter, were presented at the National Awards Banquet.

Newsletter of the Year - Quail Tale, Dallas Model A Ford Club, Wanda Rice, Editor
Newsletter of Excellence - The Action “A” Newsletter, Phoenix Model A Club, Diane Adams, Editor
Newsletter of Distinction - News ‘A’ Letter, Heart of America Model A Ford Club, Chuck Lewis, Editor
Best Special Interest Group - A400 Group Newsletter, Marlies Plaggenborg, Editor
Best Regional Group - The Regional Roundup, SCRG, Carla Hibbard, Editor
Best International Newsletter - Quail, Model A Club of Great Britain, Mike Dingle-Jones, Editor
Certificate of Continuing Excellence - The Spare Tire, Palmetto A’s of South Carolina, Happy Begg, Editor

Certificates of Merit
1. The Road Runner, NW Missouri Model A Club, Sherry Winkinhofer, Editor
2. Rumbleseat Review, Wichita A’s of Kansas, Linda Kibbe, Editor
3. Rock-Ford A’s Newsletter, Rockford A’s, Chris Aupperle, Editor
4. The Ahoooga News, Beaver Chapter Model A Ford Club, Portland, Patty Brost, Editor
5. The Sparton, Hangtown A’s, Placerville, CA, Hymie Brandstetter, Editor
6. The Ford Script, George Washington Chapter, Fairfax, VA, Bill Sims, Editor, Doug Tomb, Asst. Editor. (2)
7. The Steering Column, Greater Baltimore MAFC, Hanover, MA, Betty Fisher, Editor
8. Moto Meter, Diablo A’s of California, Peggy English, Editor
9. The Distributor, Orange County MAFC, Peter & Ana Hyland, Editors
10. River Cities Running Board, River Cities MAFC, Columbus, GA, Jim Langley, William Shirley and, Bob Smith, Editors
11. Model A Messenger, Central Alabama Model A Ford Club, Terry Longest, Editor
12. Gerties’ Gossip, Gallopin’ Gertie A’s, Ima Armour and Marsha DuBreuil, Editors
13. The Nut Shell, Acorn A’s, David Samson, Editor
14. The Quips, Cuesta Crankers Model A Club, Doug Ayers & Pete Peterson, Editors


Chapter Web Site Awards

A good chapter web site informs their members of chapter activities and guides potential members to the chapters. Below are this year's award-winning Chapter web sites. MAFCA presents awards based on criteria in the Web site Award Policy. This year's winners are as follows (click on the chapter name to visit their web site):

Award Chapter Webmaster
Web Site of the Year Palmetto A’s Happy Begg
Web Site of Excellence Brazos Valley A’s Ginger Wentrcek
Web Site of Distinction Acorn A’s Bob Woodford
Merit Award MAFC of Colorado Lola Happel
Merit Award Lions Gate Model A Club Carl Becker
Merit Award Dallas Model A Ford Club Jason Ellis
Merit Award Santa Clara Valley Chapter Dave Van't Hof


Last Updated: 10/14/23