Chapter Awards 2013

Each year, MAFCA awards chapters and members for longevity and service. This year's awards were announced at the National Awards Banquet in Colorado Springs, CO. Congratulations to all the chapters and people involved!


Chapter Longevity Awards

Many of our chapters celebrated their 50th Anniversaries this year. Congratulations to all chapters who have reached the 25 year or more mark.

50 Years Beaver Chapter Oregon   30 Years Mother Lode A's California
50 Years Central Wisconsin Wisconsin        
45 Years Alabama Chapter Texas   25 Years Cowlitz Valley A's Washington
40 Years Acorn A's California   25 Years Ohio Valley Region Ohio
35 Years Henry Leavenworth A's Kansas   25 Years Palm Beach A's Florida
35 Years Nickle A Region Wisconsin   25 Year Southwest Missouri MAC Missouri
35 Years North Penn A's Pennsylvania   25 Years Sycamore A's Indiana


Chapter Service Awards

This award is given to Chapter members nominated by their chapters for service above and beyond. These special people have worked hard and long to make their chapters successful.

Those members who were honored by their Chapters for outstanding, long-term, continuing and selfless service to others in the Model A hobby are . . .

Rick Richter Alamo A's Texas
David Bockman Charter Oak A's California
Arlen & Trish Evans Dallas Model A Ford Club Texas
Bob Grady Diablo A's California
Bud Swartwood MARC of San Diego California
Gene Tallone Minuteman Model A Ford Club Massachusetts
Robert Holler Patagonia T & A Arizona
Gordon Lowe Sierra Chapter MAFC California
Douglas Oliver Superior A's Michigan
Bob & Kitty Schaefer Wisconsin Chapter Wisconsin


Newsletter Awards

Most MAFCA chapters submit copies of their newsletters to the Chapter Coordinator each month. From those newsletters, MAFCA presents awards based on criteria in the Newsletter Award Policy.

MAFCA Chapter Newsletter Awards for 2013, designed to recognize the Editors of Chapter Newsletter, were presented at the National Awards Banquet.

Award Newsletter Chapter Editor
Newsletter of the Year Volcano Review Volcano A’s Bob Rusunen
Newsletter of Excellence Quail Tale Dallas Model A Ford Club Wanda Rice
Newsletter of Distinction The Spare Tire Palmetto A’s of South Carolina Happy Begg
Newsletter of Distinction Rumble Seat Review Wichita A’s Linda Kibbe
Newsletter of Distinction Wheeling the “A” Wisconsin Chapter Sue Quam
Best Special Interest Group The Milepost Model A Touring Club Keith Smith
Best Regional Group Regional Roundup Southern California RG Carla Hibbard
Best International Newsletter Model A Torque North Island, New Zealand Paul Hunter
Most Improved Newsletter   Utah Valley Model A Club Greg Mack


Certificates of Merit

Publication Chapter Editor
Colonial “A” News Colonial Virginia Dave Westenberger
Traveler Gulf Coast Model A Club Alabama, Walt & Martha Fuller
Sparton Hangtown A’s, California Hymie Brandstetter
The Accelerator MAFC of New Jersey Joan Kimball
Desert A MARC of Arizona Frank & Janice Gemmell
The Road Runner Northwest Missouri Sherry Winkinhofer
Action A Phoenix Model A Club, Arizona Diane Adams
The Ford Squeaks Piney Wood A’s, Texas Ken & Lori Pritchett
Running Board River Cities Model A, Georgia William Shirley
Ford Script Santa Clara Valley MAFCA, California Dave & Susan Jones


Chapter Web Site Awards

A good chapter web site informs their members of chapter activities and guides potential members to the chapters. Below are this year's award-winning Chapter web sites. MAFCA presents awards based on criteria in the Web site Award Policy. This year's winners are as follows (click on the chapter name to visit their web site):

Award Chapter Webmaster
Website of the Year Volcano A's Bob Rusunen
Website of Distinction Palmetto A's Happy Begg
Merit Award Old 96 District Happy Begg
Merit Award Harbor Area MARC Sue Hankins


Last Updated: 10/14/23